Immunoglobulin Replacement Therapy

Many Primary immunodeficiency diseases are characterized by the inability of the immune system to produce antibodies to various microbes. Therefore, one method of treatment is to medically replace antibodies. These products do not help the immune system itself to produce antibodies.

Method of preparing antibodies:

Blood plasma is collected from thousands of healthy people who are free from infectious diseases. Then antibodies (IgG) are isolated and purified to be used for many therapeutic purposes, including antibody replacement in some cases of primary immunodeficiency.

Method of administration:

Antibodies are periodically administered through subcutaneous injection (on a weekly, biweekly, or monthly basis) or intravenous injection (every 3-4 weeks). A Patient continues to take this replacement therapy for life unless the condition resolves or the immune dysfunction is corrected through stem cell transplantation or gene therapy based on the type of disease.

Intravenously administered antibodies may result in the following side effects: Mild fever, muscle pain, or headache. Very rarely severe allergic reaction occurs with skin rash, shortness of breath, and hypotension.

In addition, subcutaneously administered antibodies may result local injection site swelling and redness which improve over time.

Dosage: In case of intravenously administered antibodies, the dose usually starts with 400-600 mg per each kilogram of patient's weight per month. In case of subcutaneously administered antibodies, the dose is 100-175 mg per each kilogram of patient’s weight per week. The final dose is eventually the same as the intravenous form. Dosages are to be then adjusted in accordance with patient's response and the level of antibodies in blood (trough target level of IgG is about 8-10 g/l).

تعويض الأجسام المضادة

تتميــز بعــض أمــراض نقــص المناعــة الوراثيــة بعــدم قــدرة الجهــاز المناعــي علــى إنتــاج أجســام مضــادة للميكروبــات المختلفــة، وبالتالــي فــإن أحــد طــرق علاجهــا هــو تعويــض هــذه الأجســام المضــادة مــع الأخــذ بالاعتبــار أن هــذه المنتجــات الدوائيــة لا تقــوم بتعويـض كامـل كمـا أنهـا لا تسـاعد الجهـاز المناعـي نفسـه فـي إنتـاج الأجسـام المضـادة.

كيف يتم تحضير هذه الأجسام المضادة؟

يتــم تجميــع بلازمــا الــدم مــن آلاف مــن الأشـخاص الأصحـاء الخاليـن مـن الأمـراض المعديــة ثــم يتــم معالجــة بلازمــا الــدم، وعــزل وتنقيــة هــذه الأجســام المضــادة ليتــم اســتخدامها فــي أغــراض علاجيــة كثيــرة منهــا تعويــض الأجســام المضــادة كمـا فـي أمـراض نقـص المناعـة الوراثيـة.

كيف يتم إعطاء هذه الأجسام المضادة؟

تعطـى الأجسـام المضـادة بشـكل دوري عـن طريـق الحقـن تحـت الجلـد (أسـبوعيا) أو عـن طريــق الوريــد (كل 3-4 أســابيع,) ويســتمر المريــض علــى هــذا الــدواء طــوال حياتــه مــا لـم يتـم تصحيـح الخلـل المناعـي غالبـا عـن طريـق زراعـة خاليـا الـدم الجذعيـة أو العلاج الجينــي علــى حســب نــوع المــرض. وعلــى المريــض الالتــزام بأخــذ العلاج كمــا يصفــه الطبيــب المعلاج.

الأجســام المضــادة المعطــاة عــن طريــق الوريــد قــد تســبب التأثيــرات الجانبيــة التاليـة: حـرارة طفيفـة, آلام فـي العضـلات, صـداع أو تحسـس شـديد (طفـح جلـدي), ضيـق فــي النفــس, هبــوط فــي الــدورة الدمويــة.

بالنسـبة للأجسـام المضـادة المعطاة عـن طريـق الحقـن تحـت الجلـد؛ فقـد تسـبب أعـراض جانبيـة فـي منطقـة الحقـن وتتحسـن مـع مـرور الوقـت.

الجرعات: بعــد أن يتــم التأكــد مــن عــدم قــدرة الجهـاز المناعـي علـى إنتاج الأجسـام المضـادة يتـم وصـف الأجسـام المضـادة التعويضيـة للمريـض.

تتـراوح الجرعـة مـن مريـض لآخـر، ففـي حالـة الأجسـام المضـادة عـن طريـق الوريـد فـإن الطبيــب عــادة مــا يبــدأ بـ 400-600 ملــغ لــكل كيلوغــرام مــن وزن المريــض شــهريا, أمــا بالنسـبة للأجسـام المضـادة عـن طريـق الحقـن تحـت الجلـد فالجرعـة 100-175 ملـغ لـكل كيلوغــرام مــن وزن المريــض أســبوعيا ثــم تعــدل الجرعــات حســب اســتجابة المريــض وحســب مســتوى الأجســام المضــادة فــي الــدم (أن يكــون المســتوى للـ IgG حوالــي 8-8,5 ملـغ لـكل دسـل.